congressional debate team

The Howland High School Speech and Debate Team continues to impress in the postseason, qualifying for the Ohio Speech and Debate Association State Finals that will be held in Wooster this March.  The following students also finished in the top six of their respective events to earn a spot on the Youngstown district squad:

Ky' Renae Matlock
Izzy Carvin
Jaxon Farmer
Nina Glisic
Chelsea Moorhead
Mahayla Prater
Abby Deemer
Reese Tomko

These students will also compete in February for a place on the Ohio delegation to the National Speech and Debate Finals held in Kentucky this June.

For the first time in team history, Howland High School's Congressional Debate Team won the National Speech and Debate Association District Championship.  Students in this event draft, present, and defend legislative bills and resolutions. At the end of the 8-hour legislative session, Howland won the team award based on the individual performances of its squad.  Three students won spots to the National Congressional Finals to be held in Kentucky this June. All four members of the Congress squad will also be competing at the state finals this March in Wooster, Ohio.

Left to Right: Niko Mastorides - congress coach and Howland alumni, Mark Groom - national qualifier in the House of Representatives , Steve Slater - national qualifier in the Senate, Katie Toepfer - champion of the House of Representatives and national qualifier,  Aubrey Snyder - member of the House of Representatives,  Mason Glinn - assistant coach and Howland alumni.